An NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center (IUCRC) focusing on Biometrics
Home >  Biometrics Symposium 2008

Biometrics Symposium 2008

Technical Co-sponsor:
IEEE Computational Intelligence Society

Technical Co-sponsor:
The 6th Biometrics Symposium 2008
(BSYM 2008)
The Biometric Consortium Conference (BCC)
Tampa Convention Center
Tampa, Florida, USA
September 23-25 2008

BSYM 2008 Program Schedule

Best Paper Awards Sponsored By

The 2008 winners are:
  • "Scars, Marks And Tattoos (SMT): Soft Biometric For Suspect And Victim Identification" by Jung-Eun Lee, Anil K. Jain, Rong Jin (Michigan State University).
  • "A Robust Feature Selection Method for Noncontact Biometrics Based on Laser Doppler Vibrometry" by Po-Hsiang Lai, Joseph A. O'Sullivan, Mei Chen, Erik J. Sirevaag, Alan Kaplan, and John W. Rohrbaugh (Washington University in Saint Louis).

    Congratulations to the winners!

    Quick Links:

  • Main Biometrics Consortium Conference (BCC 2008) website.
  • Biometric Technology Expo
  • Lodging Information
  • Registration Information


  • The Program schedule for BSYM 2008.
  • The list of accepted papers can be found here.
  • The symposium will feature invited talks by Dr. Ann Cavoukian, Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, Prof. Alice J. O'Toole, University of Texas at Dallas, and Dr. Martin Meints, Independent Centre for Privacy Protection Schleswig-Holstein (ICPP), Germany.
  • Authors of accepted papers must follow the instructions posted below to submit the final version (see Full Paper Preparation Guide below). The submission deadline is August 1, 2008.
  • Posted on 27 March: The paper submission deadline has been extended to April 15, 2008. Please follow the instructions posted below to format and submit your manuscript.
  • Posted on 27 March: Authors: Please note that submitting your manuscript for review indicates your willingness to attend and present your work at the conference if your manuscript is accepted for publication.

    Call for Papers

    The Biometrics Symposium provides an international forum for the dissemination and exchange of basic and applied scholarly research leading to applications of biometrics to human identification and verification. The intent of the Symposium is to stimulate and foster research in biometrics and build a bridge between basic research and deployment of biometric systems with respect to:

    * Operationally relevant technologies (e.g., face, fingerprint, iris, voice, gait, hand/palm, other novel biometrics, multibiometrics, etc.)
    * Measures of effectiveness (e.g., performance analysis/prediction, testing techniques, statistical basis, individuality, etc.)
    * Security, countermeasures and spoofing (e.g., liveness detection, biometric encryption, template security, cancelable biometrics, etc.)
    * Societal, policy and design for acceptance implications (e.g., privacy and civil liberties, societal perceptions, data sensitivity, international perceptions, etc.)

    This sixth Symposium continues BSYM's tradition of bringing together academic, industry, and government researchers at the convergence of disciplines defining biometric systems with the biometric practitioners infusing new innovations in next-generation systems. Co-location with the Biometrics Consortium Conference provides a venue unique in the biometrics community to achieve this objective

    Prospective authors are invited to submit papers reflecting original, unpublished work in the field. Papers should not exceed 6 pages including results, figures and references. LATeX and WORD templates will be made available at this website. All submissions will be subjected to a double-blind review procedure. The CD-ROM proceedings of accepted papers will be made available at the symposium. Symposium papers will be archived and available through IEEE Xplore. Best paper awards will be given to outstanding contributions and recognized as such at the Symposium.

    The authors of accepted papers who will be presenting their work will receive a discounted registration rate. Student attendees will also receive a discounted registration rate.

    Important Dates:

  • April 15, 2008: Submission of a 6-page paper strictly adhering to format and content guidelines. Submission instructions are posted below.
  • July 1, 2008: Notification of acceptance for oral or poster presentation.
  • August 1, 2008: Submission of final paper along with personal information.

    General Chairs:

  • Larry Hornak, West Virginia University
  • Anil Jain, Michigan State University
  • Josef Kittler, University of Surrey
  • Tieniu Tan, CAS Institute of Automation

    Program Committee Chairs:

  • Terrence Boult, University of Colorado
  • Joseph Campbell, MIT Lincoln Labs
  • Jean-Christophe Fondeur, Sagem Morpho
  • Arun Ross, West Virginia University

    Publicity Chairs:

  • Raffaele Cappelli, University of Bolgna
  • Damon Woodard, Clemson University
  • Julian Fierrez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid

    Symposium Manager:

    LaRue Williams, BKnC of CITeR, West Virginia University
    LaRue.Williams at

    Program Committee

    • Andy Adler, Carleton University
    • Lale Akarun, Bogazici University
    • Lucas Ballard, John Hopkins University
    • Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Carnegie Mellon University
    • Josef Bigun, Halmstad University
    • Bojan Cukic, West Virginia University
    • Sarat Dass, Michigan State University
    • Farzin Deravi, University of Kent
    • Bernadette Dorizzi, Institut National des Telecommunications
    • Nicolae Duta, Nuance
    • Julian Fierrez, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
    • Carmen Garcia-Mateo, Universidade de Vigo
    • Venu Govindaraju, State University of New York at Buffalo
    • Vincent Hsu, L-1 Identity Solutions
    • Xudong Jiang, Nanyang Technological University
    • Ioannis Kakadiaris, University of Houston
    • Jaihe Kim, Yonsei University
    • Rick Lazarick, Computer Sciences Corporation
    • Davide Maltoni, University of Bologna
    • Nasir Memon, Polytechnic University
    • Fabian Monrose, John Hopkins University
    • Larry Nadel, Noblis
    • Mark Nixon, University of Southampton
    • Nick Orlans, Mitre
    • Javier Ortega-Garcia, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
    • Sharath Pankanti, IBM
    • Jonathon Phillips, NIST
    • Salil Prabhakar, DigitalPersona
    • Scott Rogers, Lockheed Martin Corporation
    • Marios Savvides, Carnegie Mellon University
    • Natalia Schmid, West Virginia University
    • Ben Schouten, Centrum voor Wiskunde en Informatica
    • Michael Schuckers, St. Lawrence University
    • Stephanie Schuckers, Clarkson University
    • Zhenan Sun, CAS Institute of Automation
    • Elham Tabassi, NIST
    • Massimo Tistarelli, University of Sassari
    • James Wayman, San Jose State University
    • P.C. Yuen, Hong Kong Baptist University

  • Final Paper Preparation Guide:

  • WORD Template [.doc]
  • LATEX Template [.zip]

    Final Manuscript Submission:

    Please follow the instructions given below to prepare your final submission package:
    • Paper:
      Prepare the final version of your paper taking into account reviewer feedback and comments. The final version must conform to the format specified and should be six pages long. However, authors have the option of purchasing upto two extra pages at the rate of $100 per page; authors of papers exceeding the 6-page limit will receive an invoice for these charges a few days after uploading the paper.
    • Upload:
      In order to upload your paper, please click on the following link and carefully follow the instructions posted there: Paper Upload Link.
    • Registration:
      The presenter for each paper will receive a full waiver of the registration fee.

    Previous Editions:

  • BSYM 2007
  • BSYM 2006
  • BSYM 2005
  • BSYM 2004
  • BSYM 2003

    Email inquiries may be sent to bsym at

  • Contact CITeR

    About this Site
    Copyright © 2016 CITeR